When Hell Freezes Over!

I received an email today that was funny to me, but not to someone who is unsuspecting. I’ll let you read it.

—–Original Message—–
From: Ann Price [mailto:ann.price@topspot-promotions.net]
Sent: Thursday, August 12, 2010 7:14 AM
Subject: Placing advertisements on blog.eset.com


Topspot-Promotions, an established advertising company, would like to pay you for placing a small advertisement on blog.eset.com for one of our customers.
These days we are using a few methods of advertising to guarantee that the ad we choose will fit the site nicely.
After reviewing your website I thought about an advertisement that fits perfectly a few pages on your website.

For full details please contact me at ann.price@topspot-promotions.net.

*If you have other websites which I can review for advertising please send me their URLs as well.

Ann Price
Advertising Specialist

To permanently delete yourself from our list, simply reply to this with a blank email and you will never receive any communication from us in the future.

For just a moment, let’s make the silly assumption that Topspot-Promotions is a legitimate company. Malware in advertisements is a serious problem. Companies like the New York Times have been bitten by this criminal ploy before. No, we’re not going to place third party advertisements from a clown with an email account on our website.

But, I did a little more research. This “established” advertising company registered their domain in late 2009. Yeah, established, but not for very long. According to 7zoom.com, topspot-promotions’ web site is worth $8,732 and they rank 300,039 in the world. You just would expect more from a web promotion company. I don’t know anything about 7zoom, but they say that ESET.com is worth $713,314 and ranks 3,573 in the world. We’ll have to work on that.

According to http://under-over-soccer-picks.blogspot.com/2010/08/topspot-promotions-is-scam.html topspot-promotions doesn’t pay their bills either. Not a good sign.
If you look at the website for topspot-promotions.net you will find that they do not publish a phone number or a physical address. This should raise about a billion red flags.

Even if topspot had everything in order and a stellar reputation it is virtually certain that we would not place a third-party advertisement on our blog.

They did take the time to email me so I will share my polite response with you…

Hi Ann,

I'm glad you like our site.

One of our requirements for placing 3rd party ads on the blog, from a company like yours, is that NOAA (the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) must have reported the temperature in Hades as being below 0 degrees Celsius for at least a week. If you can provide a certified report we can talk.

I will say, you do come highly recommended though and I will certainly give your company coverage in our blog!!!




WOW, you ranked 300,039 in the world… let's break out the bubbly

Best regards,

Randy Abrams
Director of Technical Education

Author , ESET

  • Randy Knobloch

    I believe placing malware in advertisements within legitmate ads on presumably innocent sites, though it would seem no one is immune of late is called "clickjacking". 

    A Hosts file can prevent a good portion of this being seen by the reader.

  • Paul Anthony Webb

    LMFAO! Oh man, I loved reading this.

  • Antivirus

    Try to trick one of the best Anti-virus software in the market haha…but spammers like that never give up. Sooner or later they will find someone else to trick.

  • Romi

    I just got the same email. Googling and finally ended here. lol
    Very funny, I like comment above “Try to trick one of the best Anti-virus software in the market”. I hate spammer!!

  • Margaret (Nanny Goats)

    Awesome response!
    And yeah, guess how I got here….

  • buzz daly

    one more satisfied reader. glad i checked with this site.  satan is still not ice skating.

Follow us

Copyright © 2017 ESET, All Rights Reserved.