Perhaps I imagined it, but a few days ago when I allowed Firefox to update to fix security vulnerabilities my privacy settings were reset to less private settings. I had Firefox set to clear the history on exit, and prompt me. I also had it set not to accept third party cookies. After the upgrade the settings were rest to defaults. I simply happened to notice that I wasn’t prompted when I closed Firefox.
A day or so later another update for Firefox and the privacy options were reset to the defaults. This is not a behavior that should be happening. Perhaps my computer is an anomaly and there is a conflict. Is anyone else seeing this behavior?
At any rate, it is always a good idea to check the settings of your programs periodically, and especially after an update.
Director of Technical Education
Author ESET Research, ESET